TAE40110 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment

TAE40110 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment

Program Description:

This qualification reflects the roles of individuals delivering training and assessment services in the vocational education and training (VET) sector.

Achievement of this qualification or an equivalent by trainers and assessors is a requirement of the Australian Quality Training Framework Essential Standards for Registration (Standard 1 as outlined in Appendix 2 of the Users' Guide to the Essential Standards for Registration).

This qualification, or the skill sets derived from units of competency within it, is also suitable preparation for those engaged in the delivery of training and assessment of competence in a workplace context, as a component of a structured VET program.

Job Roles:

  • enterprise trainer
  • enterprise assessor
  • registered training organisation (RTO) trainer
  • RTO assessor
  • training adviser or training needs analyst
  • vocational education teacher



Learning Time Period and Fee:

  • Duration: 24 weeks full time including 8 weeks of holidays.
  • Fees: AU $1500 (includes enrolment fees AU $150, AU $500 program material fee)


Entry Requirements:

There are no entry requirements for this qualification

Pathway from the Qualification:

After achieving TAE40110 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment, candidates may undertake TAA50104 Diploma of Training and Assessment or may choose to undertake TAE70110 Vocational Graduate Certificate in Adult Language, Literacy and Numeracy Practice.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL):

RPL is the assessment process for recognizing competencies gained through previous learning, work and life experiences. Students who have completed any of the subjects or have practical experience that can be used for RPL, can contact Australian Business Institute prior to enrolment. In order to be granted RPL, candidates are required to provide evidence that they are already competent in the specific subject/subjects and these evidences should be valid, authentic, current and sufficient.


Program Contents:

Total number of units= 10 (7 Core and 3 Elective)

Subject Code

Subject Name



Plan assessment activities and processes



Assess competence



Participate in assessment validation



Plan, organise and deliver group-based learning



Plan, organise and facilitate learning in the workplace



Design and develop learning programs



Use training packages and accredited courses to meet client needs



Contribute to assessment



Coordinate and facilitate distance-based learning



Make a presentation



Assessment Requirements:

This is a competency based program and assessment is undertaken. The assessments may be one-on-one environment, tailored to your job role, or through the completion of set tasks/projects for submission. It is also based on completions of assignments, practical tests and/or examinations for each unit. We work with you to assist you to demonstrate your competency.